Snettisham Beach Sailing Club
You are here:  Sailing and Powerboat Courses  >   RYA Sailing Courses for adults (16+)

RYA Sailing Courses for adults (16+)

RYA National Sailing Scheme Courses (designed for over 16’s)

Level 1 – Start sailing

The aim of this course is to give you an introduction to sailing. At Snettisham we have the flexibility of running courses on the gravel pit and on the sea. Where conditions are suitable we try to give you experience of sailing in both environments. The course usually runs over about 16hrs and we offer the flexibility of evening courses run over 6 weeks or weekend courses.

 

Date

Time

Saturday 22nd April

Sunday 23rd April

10:30 - 18:30

10:30 - 18:30

Saturday 17th June

Saturday 24th June

09:00 - 17:00

13:00 - 21:00

Saturday 26th August

Sunday 27th August

0730 - 15:30

07:30 - 15:30

Monday 28th August

Tuesday 29th August

Wednesday 30th August

08:00- 14:00

09:00 - 14:00

11:00 - 16:00

Saturday 16th September

Sunday 17th September

11:30 - 19:30

13:00 - 20:00

 

Level 2 – Basic skills

By the end of this course you should be able to rig, launch sail and recover your boat without input from an instructor. If you are looking to hire a boat either at Snettisham or elsewhere this is generally the level of competence required. At Snettisham we offer this course over a weekend or an evening course run over 6 weeks.

 

Date

Time

Saturday 15th April

Sunday 16th April

07:00 - 15:00

08:00 - 16:00

Saturday 17th June

Saturday 24th June

09:00 - 17:00

13:00 - 21:00

Saturday 26th August

Sunday 27th August

07:30 - 15:30 

07:30 - 15:30

Saturday 16th September

Sunday 17th September

11:30 - 19:30

13:00 - 20:00

 

Level 3 – Better sailing

This course is designed for sailors who want to build on skills learnt at level 2 and have an introduction into some of the more advanced modules of the RYA national sailing scheme. This course is generally run on the sea over a weekend.

 

Date

Time

Saturday 1st July

Sunday 2nd July

09:00 -17:00

09:00 - 17:00

Saturday 29th July

Sunday 30th July

08:00 - 16:00

09:00 17:00

Saturday 14th October

Sunday 15th October

09:00 - 17:00

09:00 - 17:00

 

If none of these dates are suitable for you please contact us as we may be able to schedule additional courses.

Please download the booking form below:

Course Booking Form

We are a RYA Championship club which recognises our commitment to deliver safe, effective race training and the ongoing development of our young sailors. We have been inspected by AALA and have been granted a licence which recognises our good practice and safety management systems.